author interview|Jamie Boywood

Jamie Boywood

Jamie Baywood grew up in Petaluma, California. In 2010, she made the most impulsive decision of her life by moving to New Zealand. Getting Rooted in New Zealand is her first book about her experiences living there. Jamie is now married and living happily ever after in the United Kingdom. She is working on her second book.

me with red hat

hello (*me give some tea*) before the interview tell me about the book and if have any more books up your jacket?

By the age of twenty-six, I was actually much happier being alone than dating, but I was completely

bombarded by guys trying to date me in California. I read in a New Zealand tour book that the

country’s population has 100,000 fewer men than women. I wanted to have some me time and an

adventure. New Zealand seemed like a good place to do so.

I haven’t stopped travelling since I moved out of California in 2010. For the past three years, I’ve

been disassembling and reassembling my life by moving to different countries. I’ve lived in five

countries now America, American Samoa, New Zealand, Scotland and now England. Although I

intended to have a solo adventure I ended up meeting my husband a Scottish man in New Zealand.

I plan to divide my books by the countries I’ve lived in. My next book will be about attempting to

settle in Scotland. I plan to publish it late 2014.

Who influenced you to become an author?

I had the opportunity to write and perform for Thomas Sainsbury the most prolific playwright in

New Zealand. I performed a monologue about my jobs in the Basement Theatre in Auckland. The

funny thing about that experience was Tom kept me separated from the other performers until it

was time to perform. I was under the impression that all the performers were foreigners giving their

experiences in New Zealand. All of the other performers were professional actors telling stories that

weren’t their own. At first I was mortified, but the audience seemed to enjoy my “performance,”

laughing their way through my monologue. After the shows we would go out and mingle with the

audience. People would ask me how long I had been acting. I would tell them, “I wasn’t acting; I have

to go to work tomorrow and sit next to the girl wearing her dead dog’s collar around her neck.”

How did come up with the name of this book?

My title is another way of laughing at myself. One night I was brushing my teeth with my flatmate

and I said, “I’m really excited to live in this house because I have been travelling a lot and I just need

to settle down, stop travelling and get rooted.”

I had meant get rooted in the America way to settle down, lay down roots. He started choking on

his toothbrush and asked if I was hitting on him. He explained to me what rooting meant in New

Zealand.

What is it like seeing your fans at signing?

and Wales between now and June 2014. If you are living in the UK and would like me to come to

your library or book club email me at jamiebaywood@gmail.com. All of my events are listed on my

Recently, I was part of an author panel at a reading festival in London. The other author in the

panel had published a book around the same I self-published Getting Rooted in New Zealand. The

other author has a degree from one of the world’s highest regarded universities. She was published

by a traditional publishing company, has a literary agent and publicist. It would be easy to feel

inadequate sitting next to her with her towering achievements. It wasn’t until this event that I really

appreciated myself. I’ve done everything myself. I’ve designed, published and have been marketing

my own book. I’ve been completely alone in the process, and in a foreign country where I know no

one.

Final if could be someone in this book who would you be?

The hardest part has been trying to promote the book while simultaneously attempting to stay

anonymous. My life is literally an open book, but Jamie Baywood is a pen name. I haven’t told my

family or husband’s family that I’ve written or published a book. They think I’m just living in the UK

working on a MA in Design studying book covers.

I am rather enjoying leading a double life. I am living in a different country from my family and my

husband’s family so that aids the author secret. I have a few relatives on both sides of the family

having babies this year, so both sets of families are mostly talking about the imminent arrivals and

not questioning what I am doing.

What YA authors do you like?

My new favorite author is Cyan Corwine  , author of May I Ask You Something?

Quick Fire round

Books or Fashion?-Fashion

UKYA or USYA?-USYA

Cupcakes or Dreams?-Cupcakes.

Find Author on…

Facebook

Goodreads

Twiter

Pinterest

you now have a chocie to win the book and goodies!!!

comp closed (with nowc enrtys)

The T’s and C’S appel must be aged 13-15 years old to entry

more info here

Author: Jaden (Potterhead Daydreams)

Hi 14 years old boy am jaden love to read and write listen to music and sing am aslo Potterhead in training!

One thought on “author interview|Jamie Boywood”

Leave a Reply

